NFMC RULES FOR DANCE AWARDS

An applicant for the Junior Dance Awards sponsored by NFMC must be a member of the National Federation of Music Clubs, either as a member of an active federated Junior Club, Junior Associate Group, or as an Individual Junior Member (see #3 below). *Entry deadline is May* 1st. An applicant must be an American citizen.

There are two levels of competition:

- Junior I 11-14 years of age
- Junior II 15-18 years of age

Awards from the Agnes Fowler Endowment are:

٠	Junior I	Ballet I	First Place	\$200.00*
			Second Place	\$100.00*
		Dance Styles II	First Place	\$200.00*
		-	Second Place	\$100.00*
•	Junior II	Ballet II	First Place	\$400.00*
	5		Second Place	\$200.00*
		Dance Styles II	First Place	\$400.00*
			Second Place	\$200.00*

- 1. Application *documents and fees must be submitted by May* 1st to the NFMC website <u>https://forms.nfmc-music.org</u>
- 2. A \$10.00 entry fee is required of the applicant in each category. Entry fee can be paid at <u>www.nfmc-</u><u>music.org/payment</u>.
- 3. If entering as an Junior Individual Member, the entrant must pay a membership fee of \$20.00. Visit <u>www.nfmc-music.org/payment</u> to pay the junior individual membership dues.
- 4. Students may enter in either of the following vent categories:
 - a. Ballet and one form of dance styles
 - b. Two forms of dance styles
- 5. Eligible dance styles include: Jazz, Tap, Contemporary, Modern, Hip Hop, Musical Theater, and Ballroom. <u>Students must submit an application for each event.</u>
- 6. Up to three qualified judges will adjudicate the competition by evaluating the materials submitted by the entrants.
- 7. <u>Do not include</u> the name of the performer on the digital video file. <u>Do include</u> the name of the dance, category (ballet, tap, etc.) and the age of the performer.
- 8. This is a national competition held annually. *The deadline is May* 1st. Entrants must not be older than 18 years of age by June 1st in the year of competition.
- 9. No first place winner may compete again for the same award.

Questions or concerns should be directed to the National Chair: Lisa Moore - 123.lisa.moore@gmail.com

Junior